The Film Experience™ was created by Nathaniel R. Gemini, Cinephile, Actressexual. All material herein is written and copyrighted by Nathaniel or a member of our team as noted.

Powered by Squarespace
Don't Miss This!

Weekend Box Office
what did you see?

Comment Fun

Comment(s) Du Jour
Get Out Party Chatter 

"Thanks for this. It made me think about the time my dad saw Dr. Strangelove in a theatre in Japan. He was the only person laughing. Different communities can have such opposite reactions to the same movie. This is something I love about movies, and also why they're so important. Movies really do help us see and understand others' experiences, often even better than news report/footage." - Cash


What'cha Looking For?

new Nikolaj Lie Kaas Actor
(Denmark's Oscar Submission)
Hana Jusic Director
(Croatia's Oscar Submission)
Alain Gomis Director
(Senegal Oscar Submission)

Keep TFE Strong

We're looking for 500 Patron Saints!

Your suscription dimes make an enormous difference to The Film Experience in terms of stability and budget to dream bigger. Consider...

I ♥ The Film Experience



 Index | Pic | Dir | Actress | Actor | Supp Actress |  Supp Actor | Foreign |Screenplays | Visual | Aural |Animation 

90th Oscars. Oscar Contenders of 2017 - For prediction, discussion, entertainment purposes only

 discuss on the blog 


This category is insanely crowded with strong Best Picture contenders this year. Anyone could thus be a surprise omission

Tier 1 - Predicted 5

Darkest Hour
Anthony McCarten
(1 nom for writing)

Three Billboards...
Martin McDonagh
(1 nom for writing)

Venice Winner

The Post
Liz Hannah (0/0) and Josh Singer (1/1)

Get Out
Jordan Peele
(never nom'ed)

Gotham Nominee

Lady Bird
Greta Gerwig
(never nominated)

Gotham Nominee

Tier 2 - Also Could Be Strong
Shape of Water
Guillermo del Toro (1 nom for writing), Vanessa Taylor, Daniel Kraus (0/0)
Alexander Payne (3/2 for writing) and Jim Taylor 
(2/1 for writing)

The Big Sick
Kumail Nanjiani & Emily V Gordon (0/0)

Gotham Nominee

I Tonya
Steven Rogers
(never nominated)
Phantom Thread
PT Anderson
(4 noms for writing)
Tier 3 - Longer Shots
  • The Florida Project Sean Baker & Chris Bergoch
  • Wonder Wheel (Woody Allen 16 nominations, 3 wins for writing)
  • Battle of the Sexes (Simon Beaufoy, 3/1)
  • Professor Marston and the Wonder Women(Angela Robinson)
  • Dunkirk (Chris Nolan, 2 noms for writing)
  • Beatriz at Dinner (Mike White)
  • Killing of Sacred Deer (Yorgos Lanthimos & Efthymis Filippou (1 nom for writing) Cannes winner
  • Detroit Mark Boal (2 noms | 1 win for writing)
  • The Lovers Azazel Jacobs (never nominated)
  • All the Money in the World David Scarpa (0/0)
  • The Greatest Showman Michael Arndt (2/1), Jenny Bicks (0/0), Bill Condon (2/1)
  • Brad's Status Mike White Gotham Nominee


Strangely there are far fewer obviously strong competitors than is typical for this traditionally Best Picture heavy category. Makes you wonder if they'll get brave and honor scifi (Blade Runner) superhero films (Wonder Woman or Logan) or something intimate

Tier 1 - Predicted 5

Dee Rees and Virgil Williams
(never nominated)

Adapting the book by Hillary Jordan


Call Me By Your Name
Luca Guadagnino, James Ivory, and Walter Fasano (never nominated for writing)

Adapting the novel by André Aciman

Gotham Nominee

Brian Selznick
(never nominated)

Adapting his own book

Last Flag Flying
Richard Linklater (3 nominations for writing), Darryl Ponicsan (never nominated)

Adapting the novel by Darryl Ponicsan


John Pollono
(never nominated)

Tier 2 - Could Surprise

Disaster Artist
Scott Neustadter & Michael Weber

Adapting from the book by Greg Sestero and Tommy Wiseau about the film "The Room"

Wonder Woman
Allan Heinberg adapting from the comics by William Moulton Marston

Blade Runner 2049
Hampton Fancher (0/0) & Michael Green (0/0)

Adapting from the 1982 feature


The Beguiled
Sofia Coppola
(1 nom | 1 win for writing) Adapting the novel by Thomas Cullinan

Victoria and Abdul
Lee Hall
(1 nomination)

Adapting the book by Shrabani Basu

Tier 3 - Long Shots.
  • Film Stars Dont... Matt Greenhaigh adapting the memoir by Peter Turner
  • Lost City of Z James Gray (0/0)
  • My Cousin Rachel Roger Michell (0/0)
  • Zookeeper's Wife Angela Workman (0/0)
  • Wonder Steve Conrad and Jack Thorne (never nom'ed) Adapting the novel by RJ Palacio
  • The Glass Castle Destin Daniel Cretton, Marti Noxon, Andrew Lanham adapting the memoir by Jeanette Walls
  • Logan Scott Frank (1/0), James Mangold (0/0) and Michael Green (0/0)
  • Stronger John Pollono (0/0)